Australian Engineering Excellence Awards 2018 winners

Innovative projects were showcased at the 2018 Australian Engineering Excellence Awards gala ceremony in Sydney.

Engineers Australia’s CEO Peter McIntyre said the awards were an important opportunity to acknowledge the significant contribution engineers and engineering make to the community.

“All nominees and winners demonstrate the best of Australia’s engineering sector. They also all share a commonality – world class, ground breaking and creative engineering innovations that benefit society,” Mr McIntyre said.

The Award Winners:

  • The Australian Capital Territory’s Reposit Power’s smart technology won the highest honour for a project awarded by Engineers Australia, the Sir William Hudson Award. The technology makes the electric system cheaper, cleaner, more reliable and protects network assets with virtual power allowing energy utilities to use consumer owned batteries.
  • The International Container Terminal was awarded an Engineering Excellence Award for its design, build and operation of the new international container at the Port of Melbourne by AECOM, Victoria International Container Terminal and Advanced Consulting Systems.
  • Leica Geosystems was awarded an Engineering Excellence award for its Leica GS18 T innovation, one of the world’s fast GNSS RTK Rovers to deliver fast and simple GNSS smart antenna to surveying and construction
  • Boeing Defence Australia won an Engineering Excellence Award for its Currawong Project which delivers next generation deployed integrated battleship communications network to the ADF.
  • Balconi Telecommunications won an award for its Balconi Smart Torch – Global Live portable telehealth office with global reach. It is self-contained, portable, fits in a suitcase and is powered by solar panels, designed to make healthcare available in remote communities.
  • Alinta won an award for its battery energy storage system which is the world’s largest and first battery system to support a high voltage network on its own.
  • The Byron Bay Railroad Company, Lithgow Railway Workshop, Nickel Energy and Elmofo won an award for restoring and converting a 69-year-old diesel train to become one of the world’s first solar powered trains.

Related stories:

Interesting? Share this article