Cross River Rail contractor to deliver accessibility upgrades

Six stations on Brisbane’s southside will receive upgrades to coincide with the $5.4 billion Cross River Rail project.

The accessibility upgrades to existing platforms will be delivered by the current contractors for the Cross River Rail project, the PULSE consortium and the UNITY alliance.

The upgrades come as part of a $57 million boost to Queensland’s existing $300 million accessibility upgrade program.

CIMIC Group companies leads the PULSE consortium including, Pacific Partnerships, CPB Contractors, and UGL with international partners DIF, BAM and Ghella.

The UNITY alliance brings together CPB Contractors, UGL, AECOM and Jacobs, and partners HASSELL, RCS Australia, Acmena, Martinus Rail and Wired Overhead Solutions.

The Cross River Rail project already includes plans to build additional platforms at the six stations. Now there will also be accessibility upgrades to the existing platforms.

“Station accessibility will be boosted with new overpasses, lifts, drop-off infrastructure and bike facilities included in Cross River Rail’s proposed package of works. These upgrades will make it easier for commuters with a disability, parents with prams, and travellers with luggage to use our public transport system,” Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey said.

The stations to receive accessibility upgrades will include Fairfield, Yeronga, Yeerongpilly, Moorooka, Rocklea and Salisbury.

It is hoped the upgrades will minimise network disruptions as the new platforms will be prefabricated off site.

“Queenslanders are backing public transport like never before with a record 182 million trips across the South East last financial year,” Mr. Bailey said.

“Cross River Rail’s southside improvement plans will unlock extra rail capacity and deliver the essential infrastructure that can support high frequency services on the transport network,” he said.

Public feedback on the six southside station upgrade plans can be uploaded to the website of the independent Coordinator-General until June 14, 2019.

Related stories:

Interesting? Share this article