Infrastructure Australia appoints new board members

The Federal Government has welcomed four new members to the Infrastructure Australia Board.

Infrastructure Minister Michael McCormack said the appointees would further strengthen the skills and expertise of the government’s independent infrastructure adviser.

Appointees include Mark Balnaves, John Fitzgerald, Marion Fulker and Graham Quirk.

“These four appointees will bring a wealth of knowledge to the board, and continue to add to the important work of Infrastructure Australia,” Mr. McCormack said.

According to Mr. McCormack, Mr. Balnaves currently serves as Evans + Ayers Director, and has more than 20 years experience in strategic advisory and infrastructure.

“He brings with him significant infrastructure experience, having previously advised on a number of major projects across Australia, including most recently the new Royal Adelaide Hospital,” he said.

“John Fitzgerald, having previously been interim CEO for Infrastructure Australia, will also be a valuable addition as he brings extensive corporate knowledge.”

Mr. Fitzgerald serves as Victorian Funds Management Corporation Director and a Non-Executive Chairman at Evolution Rail, Suburban Land Agency, InfraNexus Management and Canberra Light Rail.

Mr. McCormack said Ms. Fulker will also be an asset to the board, given her proven track record in infrastructure-related research.

“She brings to the board her experience as the inaugural Chief Executive of the Committee for Perth and an Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at The University of Western Australia,” Mr. McCormack said.

Mr. McCormack said Mr. Quirk brings an in-depth understanding of local government to the board, having previously served as the 16th Lord Mayor of Brisbane.

“Graham’s knowledge will be crucial when providing an assessment of the impact of certain infrastructure projects on Australian communities,” he said.

Related stories: 

Interesting? Share this article