New Chair of SA Water appointed

The South Australian Government has announced new appointments to the board of SA Water, including a new Chair.

Andrew Fletcher AO has been appointed Chair for a three-year period, with John Bastian AM, Janet Finlay and Fiona Hele also appointed as directors of the board for a period of one year.Building construction and engineering company Georgiou Group has announced a new addition to the Advisory Board.

Current directors Sue Filby and Ian Stirling have agreed to continue on the board.

Carolyn Pickles, Sybella Blencowe and Karlene Maywald have indicated they will not be continuing on the board.

SA Minister for Environment and Water David Speirs said the state government made the decision to refresh the board of SA Water to take the organisation in a new direction.

“It is critical that SA Water has a board that provides strong direction and to deliver quality services at the lowest possible price for South Australian households and businesses,” Mr Speirs said.

“The state government has exciting plans that SA Water will be fundamental to delivering, including opening up our reservoirs for recreational activities and lowering the cost of living in South Australia.”

Mr Speirs said Mr Fletcher is a proven leader with significant experience in both the public and private sectors.

“He has led transformational change in organisations including Defence SA and KBR Australia and I know Andrew will provide strong leadership and oversight to SA Water,” he said.

“The other new board members bring a wealth of experience across key areas such as finance, economic development and strategic leadership.

“All three have significant board experience and I look forward to their contributions,” Mr Speirs said.

Related stories:

Interesting? Share this article